top of page

How I Changed My Arthritis into a Blessing


My interest and practice with yoga began in the mid 1980’s. By early 1990’s I had a pipe dream that once I retired from teaching special education I would become a yoga instructor. Ten years ago I was diagnosed with a rare form of arthritis that not only made it difficult and painful to practice the vinyasa/flow style of yoga, but also forced me into early retirement. My pipe dream went by the wayside.

Then 3 years ago I walked into a yoga l class, which turned out to be a yin yoga class. Over the course of 2 years practicing yin yoga I was noticing improvements in my joint pain and overall sense of well being. A year ago this month while in class I had an epiphany: I could become a yin yoga teacher and help other arthritis sufferers. I had been praying for guidance so, I didn’t hesitate for one moment. I enrolled and started my training at You Do Yoga within 2 weeks.

I had an epiphany: I could become a yin yoga teacher and help other arthritis sufferers.

I went into my training with the intention of helping others, which is still a goal. However, I completed my training fully knowing that the universe aligned for me so that I could be given the nourishment, I so desperately needed. Although my training for the time being is over, my experience has given me the invaluable gift of connection with myself and others. The You Do Yoga Community, along with it’s Daoist philosophy is like a “diamond in the rough” right in Anderson Township. It’s a place I can call home and I will feel forever blessed!

With Light and Love,

Tammy Rooney

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page